DMV Penalties in California
YOU OR YOUR ATTORNEY MUST CONTACT THE APPROPRIATE DMV DRIVER SAFETY OFFICE
WITHIN 10 DAYS OF YOUR ARREST TO REQUEST AN ADMINISTRATIVE PER SE (APS)
HEARING AND AN EXTENSION OF YOUR TEMPORARY LICENSE. IF YOU DON’T
DO THIS YOUR LICENSE COULD BE SUSPENDED AS SOON AS 30 DAYS FROM THE DATE
OF YOUR ARREST!
Overview of DMV APS Proceedings
Typically in a DUI arrest, the police will take your California driver’s
license and give you a pink temporary license that is good for 30 days
from the date of your arrest. After the 30 days expire, your driving privilege
can be suspended for at least 4 months. However, you have a right to have
an administrative per se hearing (APS) to challenge the DMV suspension.
You also have a right to have your temporary license extended beyond 30
days. The APS hearing is completely separate from the court case. If you
win the APS hearing your license will be fully restored. If you lose the
APS hearing your license will be suspended or revoked for 4 months up
to 3 years.
You have nothing to lose and everything to gain by doing the APS hearing. We will contact the DMV for you as part of our representation. Matthew
Cargal has conducted over 1000 APS hearings and has a high success rate.
Contact The Law Offices of Matthew Cargal today.
Possible DMV Penalties:
4 month suspension if you took a blood or breath test
- On a 4 month suspension you may be eligible for a restricted license after
the first 30 days of suspension
- 1 year suspension if you refused to take a test
- 1 year suspension if you took a test
- 2 year suspension if you refused to take a test
3rd Offense or More:
- 1 year suspension or 3 year revocation
A restricted license can sometimes be obtained on a 2nd or subsequent offense with the installation of an ignition interlock device.