WE'RE HERE TO PROTECT YOU Providing Aggressive & Successful Defense for Over 25 Years

DUI Court Penalties in California

The following is not an opinion as to what will happen in your specific DUI case. It is an informational overview of the California DUI laws. The possible consequences of a DUI conviction for depend on the facts of your specific case, the number of prior DUI convictions you have within 10 years and your overall criminal record.

Generally, a DUI conviction results in:

  • 3-5 years of formal or informal probation;
  • 4 -30 month alcohol education program;
  • $1,800 -$2,500 fine;
  • 0-1 year in jail or up to 3 years in state prison;
  • 4 month – 10 year driver’s license suspension or revocation;
  • Possible additional education programs, alcohol monitoring devices, community labor or community service;
  • A 1st offense conviction does not require mandatory jail time;
  • A 2nd offense conviction requires a minimum of 4 days in jail;
  • A 3rd offense conviction requires a minimum of 120 days in jail;
  • A 4th or subsequent DUI conviction can be a felony that requires a minimum of 180 days in jail or 16 months in state prison.
  • The ignition interlock device (IID) is required for a DUI conviction in Los Angeles County and 5 other counties in California;
  • Accidents, high blood alcohol levels or other aggravating factors may lead to “enhancements” being filed which increase the penalties.

Contact Pasadena DUI attorney Matthew Cargal to discuss your specific DUI case.